Faith Bandler: May God rest her soul.


FAITH BANDLER FILE
Faith Bandler

 

Some years ago I worked in a high-end department store in West London. It was a great experience working in an environment where the customers served never seemed to blink an eyelid at the prices of items sold. The majority of the customers were famous – whether they were politicians, Hollywood actors and actresses as well as the British ones’, and then of course the musicians – whether pop stars, opera stars or divas’.  But there was one lady I served, Faith Bandler, an Aboriginal activist who campaigned against the plights and sufferings of Aboriginals in Australia. She did not tell me who she was as I  recognised her from a documentary I’d seen on TV.

Ms Bandler successfully campaigned for the indigenous Australians to be recognised as full citizens and to be given rights under the constitution. She was totally humble, warm, intelligent, passionate and possessed a quick and easy laugh She was also curious about the black community in London.  I am really happy that she will be given a full state funeral by her country.  May her soul rest in perfect peace.

4 thoughts on “Faith Bandler: May God rest her soul.

    1. I only met her once and she gave me her business card but I never followed it up! But she was down to earth and so warm. I very much enjoyed our talk.

Leave a Reply

