Review: The Help by Kathryn Stockett


What did I think? It was well written, interesting characters and a great setting. But I have to admit, I am slightly jealous.   Here I am, trying to put a story together.  I’m always trying to put a story together. Once that’s done then I send it off to the publishers which is followed by some rejections.  Nothing to do with the writing they say, but what seems to bug them is I have created scenarios where one of the black characters do not like the white characters.  If there is one thing you cannot have is black characters hating white charactersThe readership would never accept it! Mmn!  I am confused as it is not to say that my black characters are not properly punished if they are bad, or, some of my black characters don’t have white ‘friends’.  In the same way Stockett has written, I am also interested in the underlying conflict which we know exists between people – whether it is people of the same race or people of different races or people of the same class or different.  The film ‘Crash’ is a perfect example of what I am trying to explain.

And then I come across The Help and the character Minny who is sayin’ it jus like it is’.  I have to ask myself, when black writers will be able to have their stories published without the having conditions attached? The Help was a fascinating read but I just wished it was ‘us’ who are allowed to tell such a story.

The photo from the site – A Critical Review of The Help

2 thoughts on “Review: The Help by Kathryn Stockett

  1. Hi, I must admit I have only finished the first chapter of this book – I found the language slowed me down (perhaps because I was trying to say the dialogue in my head in the way it was written). It concerns me that publishers are scared to touch anything where black people hate white people. It’s people hating people. It’s life. That is was scares me about the novel I am currently writing – it is set during the apartheid and there is a lot of racial tension: I am afraid it might be deemed as too controversial.

    1. Hi Sophie, thanks for taking the time. My response was rather long so I took the liberty of sending it to your email add. I hope it’s ok!! Take care.

Leave a Reply

